I know, I know. It’s like tumbleweeds around here. But I’ve experienced A LOT of changes over the last few months, and it’s time I addressed them here. File this under “things I would not have predicted six months ago.”

For context, changes in relationship status are difficult to address. Especially when a 10-year-old partnership comes to a bitter end. Looking at this particular digital record of greatest hits was painful, and it was easier just to ignore it.

When things changed for the better (like they always do), and suddenly I found myself on a brand new course, I was gladly caught up in that ensuing whirlwind. Documenting it became secondary to actually living it.

See, freedom to love again is a powerful thing. It will change every little thing you do, feel, see, and believe — for the better. If it’s done right, it’s also challenging. Scary. Some have even said crazy.

At this stage in my life, I’d like to think I still have more years ahead of me than are behind me. I’m still young enough, arguably naive enough, to make bold choices some would call risks. As one of my favorite songs says, “Love’s for fools wise enough to take a chance.”

This move is not without precedent. In 1994, I moved to the Little Rock area not knowing a soul. I was 22, and I was free. Talk about best of times, worst of times. I learned something worth passing on: do things in life that scare the hell out of you. It’s character-building, and you’ll find your soul exactly when you need to.

And I decided back then that if I ever became so firmly planted in one place that I am no longer a flight risk, you might as well just bury me. I don’t want to be complacent. I don’t want to be tied down.

It’s time for me to literally and figuratively move on. So I’m selling my things, packing what’s left, and moving to Tulsa. I’m sad to leave one of the best jobs I’ve ever had with colleagues who’ve been my surrogate family. (If you’re looking for a web content job, you should explore this.) However, I deliberately chose a public relations gig at a Tulsa university because of this great network of high ed web professionals I also call friends.

Yeah, so I’m moving for love. Some have scoffed at that. To them I say this, if you’re not willing to move for love, can you be moved?

I don’t know a single reason that’s better than this one.

Leave a Reply

